Friday, August 28, 2009

House Ready To Tackle Proposed 2010 National Budget

MANILA, Philippines - Speaker Prospero Nograles said the House of Representatives will help ensure that President Gloria Arroyo’s proposed national budget for 2010 will sustain infrastructure and socio-economic productivity programs to promote a balanced national economic and human resource development.

“We are ready to receive the proposed 2010 General Appropriations Act which the President, through Budget Secretary Rolando Andaya Jr., will submit by tomorrow, August 26,” Nograles said.

Under the Constitution, the President of the Republic has 30 days after the State of the Nation Address within which to formally submit to Congress the national government’s proposed national outlay for the coming year, Nograles noted.

“Together with Majority Leader Arthur Defensor and House Appropriations Committee Chairman Junie Cua, we have mobilized all the different subcommittees of the latter’s mother panel to be ready to take up the different budget proposals of the various departments, offices, Constitutional bodies and government corporations and agencies,” Nograles said.

Meanwhile, lawmakers crossed party lines to unanimously approved on final reading House Bill 6440 under Committee Report No. 2071 – “An Act defining the crime of child pornography, prescribing penalties therefore and for other purposes” to be known as the “Anti-Child Pornography Act of 2009.”

Likewise, the House approved o n second reading nine (9) various measures of national scope and 13 local bills that mostly promote countryside education through the establishment or expansion of public high schools nationwide.

The House plenary also named the members of the House to the bicameral conference committee tasked to reconcile conflicting provisions in the House and Senate versions of the proposed Pre-Need Code of the Philippines under HB 6407 and SB 2077. Those named where Reps. Jaime Lopez, Juan Edgardo Angara, Luis Villafuerte, Jose Carlos Lacson, Roilo Golez, Rufus Rodriguez and Justin Marc Chipeco.

Among those bills approved on second reading are: HB 333 - “An Act prohibiting City Mayors, Municipal Mayors and Provincial Governors from making appointments two (20) months immediately before the next local election and pending assumption to office of the successor, and for other purposes.” Author: Edcel Lagman.

HB 6589 – “An Act providing for the mandatory appointment of cooperative officer in every local government unit, amending for that purpose R.A. 7160…..” Authors: Reps. Luis Villafuerte, George Arnaiz, Jocelyn Limkaichong, Diosdado M. Arroyo, Ferdinand Martin Romualdez, Victor Ortega, Antonio Alvarez, Abraham Kahlil Mitra, Antonio Cerilles, Antonio Diaz, Ma. Isabelle Climaco, Elpidio Barzaga and Mauricio Domogan.

HB 4907 – “An Act abolishing the Philippine Veterans Assistance Commission…..” Authors: Reps. Antonio Diaz, Roman Romulo, Junie Cua, Erico Basilio Fabian, and Herminia Roman.

HB 1641 – “An Act to increase the penalty for theft or robbery committed within the premises of churches, temples, and museums.” Authors: Reps. Luis Villafuerte, Diosdado M. Arroyo, Ferdinand Martin Romualdez and Giorgidi Aggabao.

HB 6514 – “An Act declaring May 7 of every year as ‘Healthy Workers’ Day.” Authors: Reps. Juan Edgardo Angara, Marcelino Teodoro, Victoria Reyes, Satur Ocampo, Teodoro Casino, Liza Maza, Luzviminda Ilagan, Rafael Mariano and Arthur Pingoy, Jr. MD.

HB 6512 – “An Act regulating the practice of Psychology, creating the Professional Regulatory Board of Psychology, and appropriating funds therefore.” Authors: Reps. Anna York Bondoc, Raul T. Gonzalez, Jr., Junie Cua and Thelma Almario.

HB 6431 – “An Act rationalizing the tax on winnings and documentaqry stamp tax on horse racing……” Authors: Reps. Abraham Kahlil Mitra, Exequiel Javier, Amado Bagatsing, Jeci Lapus, and Giorgidi Aggabao.

HB 6650 – “An Act chainging the name of the Province of Southern Leyte to Province of Leyte del Sur.” Author: Rep. Roger Mercado.

No comments: