Tuesday, August 24, 2010

Pinoy students win again in 2 int’l contests

MANILA, Philippines - Filipino math wizards again won medals and awards in two additional international math competitions held recently in China and Taiwan.

Dr. Simon Chua, president of the Mathematics Trainers Guild-Philippines, said a group of students bagged two bronze medals and four merit awards in the South East Mathematical Olympiad (SEMO) held in Taiwan.

Another batch of Filipino students won 53 honors in the 2010 China Primary Math Olympiad held in Tianjin, China.

In the SEMO, Erik Lance Astillero of Chiang Kai Shek College and Vance Eldric Go of St. Jude Catholic School each garnered a bronze medal. On the other hand, Sean Timothy Cheng, Neil Chua Goy, and Shaun Wesley Que, all students of Grace Christian College, and Geovin Dexter Uy of Chiang Kai Shek College all won merit awards.

According to Chua, nine countries competed in the contest: Philippines, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Macao, Malaysia, South Africa, Taiwan and Thailand.

On the other hand, in the 2010 China Primary Math Olympiad held in Tianjin, student Leander Noel Kiu of Pace Academy won second honors, the only Filipino student who got the award. Kiu is a member of Philippine Team 8, which emerged as the Philippines’ Best Team. The other two members of the team are Giwon Kim of Learning Link Academy and Christopher Joseph Magno of Falcon Learning Center, which both won third honors.

Fifty other Filipino students bagged third honors in the individual competition - Ella Mae Absalon, Sean Moises Aliño, Eugenio Laureano Ares, James Christian Atilano, Lesley Clarice Balete, Mia Beatrice Cahimat, Hannah Faye Canonigo, Alysza Me Carballo, Jordan Lewis Chan, Hazel Lynn Chung, Julianne Liana Co, Miko Johnson Co, Rufa Aizha Cunanan, Leovigildo Ramon De Castro III, Mikhaela Marie Diaz, Kristine Ashley Doble, Gabriel Angelo Estampador.

And Charles Louie Fernan, Gian Francesco Gamboa, Rusjonell Gerona, Gene Go Jr., Tatyana Marie Gonzaga, Jonas Andrew Ho, Shannon Gail Ho, Christopher Kohchet-Chua, Andrea Louise Lee, Marielle Francesca Lim, Marion Antonio Lim, Tonita Mari Lim, Mary Claire Lizarda, Jeremy John Magpantay, Rhomel Isaac Marcojos, Raphael Antonio Morallo, Jonathan Murga, Liam Sanro Ng, Steve HK Ng, Arvy Daniel Ngo, Maria Andrea Kristina Onglao, Camille Therese Pastoriza, Carlos Jan Penas, Charlene Rabutin, Danielle Joy Lim See, Justine John Serdoncillo, Anna Sofia Serrano, Guinevere Soria, Gwyneth Soria, Mary Joyce Tan, Terrence Brian Tsai, Joanna Nicole Yu and Sean Josef Zamora.

The MTG trained the contestants for the two competitions.

The Philippines recently competed in the 2010 China Junior High School Math Olympiad also in Tianjin and the Hua LoGeng Golden Cup Mathematics Invitational Competition in Taiwan.

No comments: