Tuesday, September 13, 2011

DILG reveals shortlist of ARMM OIC bets

MANILA, Philippines – The Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) disclosed the seven short-listed candidates as officers-in-charge of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao.

The names that made it to the top seven were Mujiv Hataman of Basilan; Ismael Mangudadatu of Maguindanao; and Ali Sanchez, Lanto Makabangkit, Saidamen Pangarungan, Dimas Pundato and Norma Sharief, all of Lanao Del Sur, according to DILG Secretary Jesse Robredo.

Robredo said the gubernatorial bets, including their vice gubernatorial counterpart, are currently undergoing tight scrutiny from the panel from multi-sectoral group leaders in ARMM.

The candidates were asked to articulate before the public their personal profile, the ARMM issues and concerns and their proposed solutions, their visions, platform of government, among others.

“We made it sure that the whole selection process was transparent. We went through the names of each of the 111 applicants nominees for OIC governor and vice governor,” added Robredo.

The DILG chief also said they came up, from a total of 440 applicants for the 24 OIC regional legislative assembly posts, with a list of five to six candidates, depending on the number of voter's population per district.

The bets for vice-governor include incumbent ARMM OIC Gov. Anzaruddin Adiong of Lanao; Hatimil Hassan of Basilan; and Bobby Datimbang, Mustapha “Eid” Kabalu and Bainon Karon, all of Maguindanao.

On Monday, simultaneous provincial fora were held in Shariff Kabunsuan Complex in Cotabato City ; Mindanao State University in Marawi City; MSU, Jolo in Sulu ; Notre Dame of Bongao in Tawi-Tawi; and Basilan State College in Isabela City.

A similar forum will be held in Zamboanga City at Western Mindanao University on Sept. 15.

Robredo said the shortlist for each post will be ranked and separately endorsed to the House Speaker and Senate President, who will submit their respective recommendations for the approval and signature of President Benigno Aquino III. (Jun Pasaylo - Philippine Star)


No comments: