Saturday, August 26, 2006

Nocot Bags 5 Golds In Isuzu Boxing Tourney

NORTH COTABATO boxing team bagged 5 gold medals in the 1st Governor’s National Amateur Boxing Circuit (GNABC) Isuzu Invitational Amateur Boxing Tournament winning the over-all team championship award.

The team was composed of Pinweight Rommel Asenjo, Flyweight William Belandres, Bantamweight Larry Villanueva, Lightweight Reynaldo Belandres and Welterweight Wilfredo Lopez. They garnered a total of 42 points to claim the tourney’s P20,000.00 top prize.

Reynaldo Belandres was too strong for his opponent, Jason Pagaran of Misamis Oriental province. Pagaran retired in Round 3 with 1 minute 15 seconds left.

Asenjo won with 15-8; Villanueva 21-18; William Belandres 19-12; while the tourney’s best boxer, Wilfredo Lopez recorded a 20-5 final score against Nonito Penida of Tulunan town, also of North Cotabato, to win the P5,000.00 cash incentive.

Meanwhile, Ruly Boholts of the Misamis Oriental team bagged the gold in the Featherweight division beating Rey Juntilla of North Cotabato with a 25-11 count.

Misamis Oriental won the 1st runner-up award and went home with P15,000.00 cash prize. Light flyweight gold medallist Johnny Cadigal of Tulunan outscored Reginald Isunga of NorthCot, 25-17 to power his team to a second runner-up finish with 15 team points. They won P10,000.00 cash prize.

Paperweight champ Conrado Tañamor of Universidad de Zamboanga in Zamboanga City outfought Romulo Ramayan of Malaybalay, Bukidnon.

Tañamor’s team, gathered 8 points to claim the tournament’s 3rd runner-up award with a P5,000.00 cash prize.

Jerson Barato of North Cotabato and Rodolfo Cartin of Zamboanga won the Best Judge and Best Referee awards respectively and each went home with P3,000.

His Excellency, Jaroslav Ludva, Ambassador of the Czech Republic to the Philippines, led the awarding ceremony with Governor Emmanuel Piñol and Isuzu Davao President and General Manager Milton Liu.

The 1st Governor’s National Amateur Boxing Circuit (GNABC) Isuzu Invitational Boxing Tournament is a project of the League of the Philippine Provinces’ (LPP) Guv’s for Gold” program and is part of the celebration of North Cotabato’s 92nd foundation anniversary.

No comments: