Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Media coverage of Aquino Administration, Arab Spring are Ongpin seminar topics

MANILA, Philippines (Mindanao Examiner / June 21, 2011) - Issues and problems in the press coverage of the one-year old Aquino administration including local government units will be the main subject of the 2011 Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism Seminar, the Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility (CMFR) said on Tuesday.

It said the 2011 Marshall McLuhan fellow will also be announced, and the first Sandra Burton Nieman Fellow presented after the seminar.

The Marshall McLuhan fellowship consists of a ten-day familiarization and lecture tour of Canadian media and academic organizations, and a lecture tour of Philippine universities under the auspices of the Embassy of Canada in the Philippines. Thirteen journalists have been McLuhan fellows since the fellowship was first announced in 1997.

The Nieman fellowship consists of a year’s study grant at Harvard University in the United States. The late Sandra Burton was the Time Asia correspondent who covered the Philippines extensively from August 23, 1983 when the late Senator Benigno Aquino, Jr. was assassinated at the Manila International Airport until the restoration of democracy in 1986 and onwards.

CMFR administered the process of nominating the Sandra Burton Nieman Fellow for 2011, John Nery of the Philippine Daily Inquirer.

The Canadian Ambassador Christopher Thornley will announce the 2011 Marshall McLuhan Fellow. The Embassy of Canada in Manila is the sponsor of the fellowship named after the Canadian communication theoretician.

Maria Elena Cruz will represent the Ninoy and Cory Aquino Foundation.

CMFR organized the Jaime V. Ongpin Awards for Excellence in Journalism from 1989 until the competition segment was discontinued in 2010. The seminar has been a feature of the awards since 1995.

Jaime V. Ongpin, a prominent business leader, was a press freedom advocate who was involved in the protest movement against the Marcos regime. He was later finance secretary in the Cabinet of the late President Corazon Aquino.

Outstanding journalists from print, broadcast and online media will serve as panelists in a moderated discussion on June 23 at the SGV Hall of the AIM Conference Center Manila (Benavidez cor. Trasierra Streets, Legaspi Village, Makati City) at 9:30 a.m.

An open forum will also engage an audience of members of the press, journalism faculty and students and other leaders of civil society.

The members of the panel were chosen by a steering committee composed of senior journalists, who nominated journalists from both the national and community press in addition to a list based on the PJR Reports media monitor.

PJR Reports is the flagship publication of CMFR. It monitors media performance and recognizes good practice while criticizing lapses in professional and ethical standards.

No comments: